Biennial General Meeting 2019

Minister Tassi Holds Town Hall at Senior Liberals’ Commission – Ontario BGM.

The Senior Liberals’ Commission – Ontario Section held its Biennial General Meeting on April 12, 2019 in conjunction with the Liberal Party of Canada – Ontario Convention in Mississauga.

The timing of the late afternoon meeting, just prior to the official opening of the convention, worked very well. It was a standing room only crowd with more than 100 people in attendance.

On behalf of the SLC(O), Sheila Bryan, Chair welcomed the Honourable Filomena Tassi, MP for Hamilton West-Ancaster-Dundas as our guest speaker. A strong advocate for seniors, Minister Tassi is the first Minister to hold this portfolio. Her presentation, on what has been accomplished by the Liberal Government on behalf of Canadian Seniors, was very well received.

The presentation will be available soon on the SLC(O) website.

MP for Scarborough-Agincourt, Jean Yip, was chair of the meeting. As co-chair of the Liberal Caucus Seniors Committee, Ms Yip has also been a champion of issues that affect the well-being of older citizens.

L–R  Honourable Filamena Tassi, MP Hamilton West-Ancaster-Dundas, Jen Yip, MP Scarborough-Agincourt, Co-Chair Caucus Committee for Seniors, Sheila Bryan, Chair, Senior Liberals’ Commission – Ontario Section.

Board Election

A major piece of business at the BGM is the election of the Board of the SLC(O) which will serve until the next general meeting in 2021.

Doug Brydges,National Co-Chair Senior Liberals’ Commission read into the record the new Executive of the SLC(O)

  • Chair: Sheila Bryan
  • Vice Chair: Rob Willson
  • Secretary: Sheila McKay
  • Policy Chair: Eric Young
  • Communication Chair: Kathleen Devlin
  • Regional Directors
  • Eastern Jean-Pierre Dany
  • Toronto Edelgard Mahant
  • Southwest J. Brian White

Other members of the Board include, Daphne Gabriel who represents the National Senior Liberals’ Committee and Gloria Reszler, representative of the Women’s Liberal Commission.

L-R  Back Row – Doug Brydges, Daphne Gabriel,  Rob Willson, Eric Young, Jean-Pierre Dany
Front Row – Sheila Bryan, Kathleen Devlin, Edelgard Mahant
Absent – Kamal Jain, Brian White, Sheila McKay, Bhagavat Pandya

Since the BGM, the following have been confirmed in their positions to the Board:

Regional Director, Golden Horseshoe  Kamal Jain

Directors-at-Large  Peter Frost, Bhagavat Pandya

The positions of Regional Director for the North and Central regions are still vacant. If you are interested in either, please contact Chair, Sheila Bryan at